Wednesday, November 08, 2006

Wells Dominates Ward 6, Rivera Wins by Three

Candidates aiding in the quest for quiet (unofficial results from the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics:

Barring a recount, Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner (ANC6C 05) Commissioner Anthony Rivera won reelection by three votes. He tallied 205 votes to challenger Alan Kimber’s 202.

ANC 6A Commissioners Joe Fengler and Raphael Marshall also will return to their single member districts, which abut H and 8th Streets NE.

Tommy Wells handily won the Ward 6 Council seat with 62% of the vote. Independent Will Cobb took 27% and Republican Tony Williams took 11%.

Councilmember Jim Graham ran opposed, but it is unclear if he will retain chair of the Consumer and Regulatory Affairs Committee.

At-large Councilmembers Phil Mendelson and David Cantania also will return to the council chambers.

Oh, in case you had not heard--Adrian Fenty won the D.C. mayoral race by a landslide.


Post a Comment

<< Home